Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook by Angie Alt

It seems like just yesterday that I started to cook some recipes from Angie Alt's Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook, but it was actually September.  Angie graciously provided me with an electronic copy of her cookbook for review and I have since bought the paperback copy myself as penance for being so slow to review the book. I've now cooked four recipes from the book and I do believe I'm ready to do my summary post.  I'd thought about doing one more recipe, but I thought this would be a nice way to end the year.  Spoilers, but I'll probably be reviewing a few more recipes from this book in the future.  Let's take a look at what I've made so far.  


Tuesday, December 29, 2015

Presto Percolator Product Review & TPR Coffee Mug Giveaway

A little over a year ago, if you asked my friends and coworkers if I liked coffee, the answer would be a resounding yes and my brewer of choice was a Keurig.  I had Keurig machine and home and at work.  As I started to examine my use of plastics in the kitchen, I couldn't ignore that my Keurig and really any automatic drip machine suffer from the same problem, hot water and plastic.  It seemed silly to get rid of all my plastic kitchen storage but then continue to use the Keurig machines, so I looked for alternatives.  A good friend of mine told me about his percolator.  He and his wife use it for tea and he had nothing but praise for it.  What's great about a percolator is that you can buy a model that is all stainless steel on the inside.  No more plastic!  Yay! I bought and have used the machine for about a year, so I'm ready to review it.  If you indulge me, at the end, you can enter a giveaway to get a The Paleo Review mug! 

Monday, November 30, 2015

Paleo Snack Round Up


Howdy!  I've had this post in draft form for ages!  At this past PaleoFX, I was given yet another snack to review, so I decided it was high time to put this post out there.  When I started drafting this post, it seemed there weren't many options out there for paleo snacks, but that's certainly not the case any longer.  In fact, I have so many snacks to include in this post, I've been putting it off like one of those to do lists that's gotten too long.  Ok, let's do this. 



I honestly don't buy many paleo snacks.  Why?  Well, they tend to be expensive and a bit calorie dense/high sugar for me and my personal paleo template.  Every once in a while you need something portable for a road or camping trip.  The products in this post would be what I would suggest for those times of need.   As there are many goodies, I'll keep my comments pretty brief  on each.  

Sunday, November 29, 2015

Mustard Chicken Wings by Angie Alt

Every once in a while I crave chicken wings.  I can't explain it, but I do.  I was glad to see this Mustard Chicken Wing recipe in Angie Alt's Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook.  I believe I've mentioned this before, but Angie blogs with Mickey Trescott at Autoimmune Paleo.  I still had some great wings from Tendergrass Farms, so when that mood hit, I knew what to do. 

I gathered my ingredients.  

Saturday, October 31, 2015

Lemony Roasted Brussels Sprouts from Angie Alt

Happy Halloween, everyone!  I can think of no better way to celebrate than to review another recipe from Angie Alt's Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook for Lemony Roasted Brussels Sprouts. This is the third recipe that I've reviewed from this cookbook and I realized that I've said next to nothing about the fact that all of these recipes are AIP complaint.  I believe the reason being is that they are tasty recipes for anyone following a paleo template.  The AIP complaint aspect is just a bonus as the recipe can be enjoyed by more people.  With that said, its time to grab some Brussels sprouts and get to work! 


Monday, October 26, 2015

Bacon & Artichoke Stuffed Pork Chops by Angie Alt

Whenever I get a new paleo cookbook, it seems that I am always attracted to stuffed meat recipes.  Of course, this meant I had no choice but to give Angie Alt's Bacon and Artichoke Stuffed Pork Chops from her book, the Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook  a try.  Even without the stuffed factor, bacon and artichoke with pork chops sounds heavenly to me.  I grabbed my ingredients, turned my oven on to pre-heat, and got to work one weekend morning.  Yes, morning.


Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Paleo Pressure Cooker Beef Stroganoff from Balancing Paleo

Before I review another recipe from Angie Alt's Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook, I thought I'd blog this recipe I gave a try a few months ago while I knock a little more rust off my blogging wheels.  I had a real hankering for Beef Stroganoff and my internet search engine lead me to Paleo Beef Stroganoff from Balancing Paleo.  I was made this on a weeknight, so the pressure cooker usage was a real plus for me.  Without further ado, I grabbed my ingredients.    


Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Coffee and Balsamic Rubbed Roast Beef by Angie Alt

Can you believe that its already nearly October?  I can't.  Time flies when you have way too much to do.  I'm sure many of you thought I'd never be back, but here I am.  I'm hoping the next few months will be more conducive to blogging.  

Today is the first review that I'm doing from Angie Alt's Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook. Recently (using the term very loosely at this point), she teamed up with Mickey Trescott at Autoimmune Paleo and she graciously gave me an e-book review copy of her book.  I felt so bad that it was taking me so long to get around to these reviews that I went a head and bought a hard copy of the book.  I've now cooked 4 recipes and while I don't want to spoil the summary cookbook review (though the fact I bought the book should be spoiler enough), I've not been disappointed so far.

The first individual recipe review from the book is the Coffee and Balsamic Rubbed Roast Beef.  I've actually cooked this twice.  The first time, I didn't follow the letter of the recipe so I cooked it a second time following the rules.  The first time I made it, I had two chuck roasts that needed to be cooked and I was short on time to monitor the oven, so I used my slow cooker.  



Sunday, February 8, 2015

American Lamb Board meets Slow Cooker Lamb Curry

Back in October when I attended the AFBA Byte of Texas conference, the American Lamb Board had a table with all sorts of lamb information and a very knowledgeable representative, Tyler.  I'm no stranger to the the benefits of quality, sustainably grown, humanly raised meat but I had no idea of the fact that lamb was so far ahead of the curve than beef or really any other meat produced in the U.S. in those regards.  They had a sign up to win a leg of lamb, so of course I signed up.  Shortly after the conference, I got an email offering me a leg of lamb!  Awesomeness! I provided my shipping info but no lamb arrived.  I finally got around to following up and it ends up the Internet had eaten my email.  Tyler fixed that and within a few days, a leg of lamb was delivered in the cutest lunch sack ever.  

It says, "Baaaa Appetit!"

Monday, January 26, 2015

The Paleo Review Ranch Dressing Blend

Happy New Year!  Can you believe that it's already the end of January?  I can't.  Today's post is a seasoning blend that I've been playing around with for almost a year.  Yes, a year.  I meant to get this posted a long time ago, but slowly it turned into a mountain of a post in my mind.  I have to remind myself that none of you know the plans I make in my mind and y'all won't miss a thing so long as the post provides some good information.  So here we go up the Paleo Ranch Seasoning, a.k.a. Poor Man's Sunny Paris, mountain.