Friday, September 30, 2016

Instant Pot Chicken Tikka Masala

The Paleo community puts a strong emphasis on taking care of oneself through sleep and rest.  As it has become more and more challenging for me to get through the demands of my day job and take care of my home and the paleo kitties, well, I have sought to become as efficient as possible at doing the things that have to be done.  Cooking has to be done.  I bought an Instant Pot a while back and for months it sat in my closet as I used it once for broth making and I just wasn't as happy as I typically am with my stove top pressure cooker.  

Slowly, I've been giving it a chance to earn a place on the countertop of my small kitchen.  As small as my kitchen is, I have to love an appliance and use it often to give it countertop space.  I love love love Chicken Tikka Masala.  If I go out for Indian food, this is what I order, so I was excited to see a recipe that could be make in the instant pot from The Kitchn.  

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Chicken with Mushrooms by Martha Stewart

Do you make New Year's Resolutions?  I don't, which is a good thing, or I'd have completely failed a likely resolution of being a better blogger this year.  Wow, nine months of the year have flown by. Work has been keeping me really busy and I find myself wondering when I'll find time to cook much less write about my cooking.  I've been focusing on finding recipes that I consider weeknight dinners in that they can be made in 30 minutes or less and recipes that I can make in my instant pot which is growing on me.  Today's recipe, Martha Stewarts' Chicken with Mushrooms came up in my Facebook feed as a suggestion and the total time of 25 minutes and a pretty picture was enough to get me to print the recipe out.  

Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook by Angie Alt

It seems like just yesterday that I started to cook some recipes from Angie Alt's Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook, but it was actually September.  Angie graciously provided me with an electronic copy of her cookbook for review and I have since bought the paperback copy myself as penance for being so slow to review the book. I've now cooked four recipes from the book and I do believe I'm ready to do my summary post.  I'd thought about doing one more recipe, but I thought this would be a nice way to end the year.  Spoilers, but I'll probably be reviewing a few more recipes from this book in the future.  Let's take a look at what I've made so far.  

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

Presto Percolator Product Review & TPR Coffee Mug Giveaway

A little over a year ago, if you asked my friends and coworkers if I liked coffee, the answer would be a resounding yes and my brewer of choice was a Keurig.  I had Keurig machine and home and at work.  As I started to examine my use of plastics in the kitchen, I couldn't ignore that my Keurig and really any automatic drip machine suffer from the same problem, hot water and plastic.  It seemed silly to get rid of all my plastic kitchen storage but then continue to use the Keurig machines, so I looked for alternatives.  A good friend of mine told me about his percolator.  He and his wife use it for tea and he had nothing but praise for it.  What's great about a percolator is that you can buy a model that is all stainless steel on the inside.  No more plastic!  Yay! I bought and have used the machine for about a year, so I'm ready to review it.  If you indulge me, at the end, you can enter a giveaway to get a The Paleo Review mug! 

Monday, November 30, 2015

Paleo Snack Round Up

Howdy!  I've had this post in draft form for ages!  At this past PaleoFX, I was given yet another snack to review, so I decided it was high time to put this post out there.  When I started drafting this post, it seemed there weren't many options out there for paleo snacks, but that's certainly not the case any longer.  In fact, I have so many snacks to include in this post, I've been putting it off like one of those to do lists that's gotten too long.  Ok, let's do this. 

I honestly don't buy many paleo snacks.  Why?  Well, they tend to be expensive and a bit calorie dense/high sugar for me and my personal paleo template.  Every once in a while you need something portable for a road or camping trip.  The products in this post would be what I would suggest for those times of need.   As there are many goodies, I'll keep my comments pretty brief  on each.  

Sunday, November 29, 2015

Mustard Chicken Wings by Angie Alt

Every once in a while I crave chicken wings.  I can't explain it, but I do.  I was glad to see this Mustard Chicken Wing recipe in Angie Alt's Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook.  I believe I've mentioned this before, but Angie blogs with Mickey Trescott at Autoimmune Paleo.  I still had some great wings from Tendergrass Farms, so when that mood hit, I knew what to do. 

I gathered my ingredients.  

Saturday, October 31, 2015

Lemony Roasted Brussels Sprouts from Angie Alt

Happy Halloween, everyone!  I can think of no better way to celebrate than to review another recipe from Angie Alt's Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook for Lemony Roasted Brussels Sprouts. This is the third recipe that I've reviewed from this cookbook and I realized that I've said next to nothing about the fact that all of these recipes are AIP complaint.  I believe the reason being is that they are tasty recipes for anyone following a paleo template.  The AIP complaint aspect is just a bonus as the recipe can be enjoyed by more people.  With that said, its time to grab some Brussels sprouts and get to work!