Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Cranberry-Braised Short Ribs from The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook

Ever since I found Mickey Trescott's Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook, I've been mesmerized by the picture of the Cranberry-Braised Short Ribs.  I felt like the time was right to make this dish as cranberries are in season, I had some beautiful grass-fed short ribs from Tendergrass Farms, and I'd just received some Fatworks Tallow to review.  With quality ingredients like this, it would give this recipe its best chance in my kitchen.  

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Make Ahead Paleo by Tammy Credicott

As you'll recall, before I dove into reviewing recipes from Well Fed 2, I had the pleasure of receiving a review copy of Tammy Credicott's Make Ahead Paleo.  This summary book review post is long over due, but you'll be rewarded for the wait as I've made one other recipe to add to my review that I've not posted yet.

Well Fed 2 by Melissa Joulwan

After receiving a review copy of Melissa Joulwan's Well Fed 2, I've spent the past few weeks cooking through a few of the recipes.  While sending me a review copy of a cookbook will guarantee that I'll dedicate some time and attention to the book, it certainly doesn't guarantee a good review.  I picked some challenging recipes to put this book to The Paleo Review test.



Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Efficient Exercise Week 27 & 28

It's a busy time of the year for a variety of reasons, and sadly, it's impacted my training schedule.  In week 27, I only had a one on one workout and no group workout and in week 28, only a group workout and no one on one workout.  I figured I'd merge the two weeks for a full workout post.  

Week 27 One On One Workout:  And one to grow on. 


This week was the week of my birthday.  Matt had actually wanted to workout on my birthday, but I had plans.  When I came into the gym, he asks me how old I'd be.  I foolishly told him.  


Sunday, December 22, 2013

Paleo Chicken Pad Thai from the Paleo Mom

While looking for recipes that fit within my N=1 Autoimmune Paleo experiment, I came across The Paleo Mom's recipe for Chicken Pad Thai.  I've only made one other paleo Pad Thai recipe and it is a labor of love to make time-wise.  Worth it, but not a weeknight dish for me.  Could Paleo Mom's recipe give me the pad thai flavors I love, but in a weeknight dinner timeframe?  I gathered my ingredients and got to work.



Thursday, December 19, 2013

Casablanca Carrots from Well Fed 2

When I decided to make the Pan Fried Sardines from Well Fed 2, I noted that Melissa suggested a few recipes as sides.  The Casablanca Carrots were suggested and so they went on to my list.  Not only did the picture in the book look appetizing but I know that I usually have carrots on hand in my fridge.

I gathered my ingredients, and got started by peeling and chopping the carrots.  

Pan Fried Sardines from Well Fed 2

If you follow the blog, you know how much I like quick and easy meals.  I also like the idea of nutrient dense ingredients like sardines.  While looking through Melissa Joulwan's Well Fed 2, the Pan Fried Sardines went on my list of recipes to review.  Little did I know what a paleo cliffhanger I had signed up for.  

I gathered my ingredients and got to work. 

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Efficient Exercise Week 26

One on One Recap:  All that?  Again?


For the past few weeks, it seems my one on one workouts have had 2 or three mini-circuits of 2-3 exercises.  Not today.  We got started and kept going.  Whenever you think you know what's going to go on in a workout, things change.  That's the Efficient Exercise way.  The workout started with the 360 push pull and chest fly.  After that, the ARx pulldown.  I hit a new max in my 5 reps on this exercise.  



Next up, a different variation on one of my favorites, a push up position plank.  Instead of planking on my forearms, Matthew asked me to basically get into the top position of a push up.  Paying attention to keep my arms under my chest .  He had me hold this for 45 seconds.  After that, he had me do lunge cable flies.  He set the weight pin at 50 pounds.  For 10 repetitions he had me press my hands into a foam brick.  After the first ten repetitions, I went back into the push up position plank.  And then, switching legs, I had 10 more repetitions of flies, but this time without the foam brick.  Are your arms tired yet?

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Efficient Exercise Week 25

One on One Recap:  AMRAP


The holidays are upon us and schedules are getting tight.  Matthew and I met up the Wednesday before Thanksgiving for my one on one workout.  He knows how to prepare me for a meal. 

He set out some dumbbells, a mat and the white board.  



Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Buffalo Chicken Salad from Well Fed 2

I love buffalo wings.  I've tried a few paleo wing recipes, but what if you could get that flavor with a healthy portion of vegetables as well?  What a great meal that could be.  Enter Melissa Joulwan's Buffalo Chicken Salad from Well Fed 2.  

I gathered my ingredients and got to work.  

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Turkey and Cranberry Meatballs from Well Fed 2

I would be remiss if I didn't try out at least one recipe from Melissa Joulwan's Well Fed 2's "Burgers, Balls & Bangers" section.  As it was getting close to Thanksgiving and I'm still too chicken to cook the turkey in my deep freeze, the Turkey and Cranberry recipe seemed like a good choice.  

I gathered my ingredients, turned my oven on to pre-heat and got to work.  

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Efficient Exercise: Week 24

One on One Recap:  "Rest"


You know the workout is going to be good when it starts with tabata squats.  Matthew had me do 8 rounds 20 seconds squatting and 10 seconds of "rest" where you hold the squat at the bottom. Ouch. Matthew and I have a much different definition of rest.  This always feels like time has slowed down.   I've been trying to make a better effort at doing some spin biking in the morning and I had done 45 minutes that morning.  I'm sure that factored into the discomfort I had to fight through those 4 minutes. After I was warmed up, the workout began.  

The first circuit started with 20 repetitions of the ab roller.  This felt easy after the squats.  

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Efficient Exercise Week 23

One on One: New Twists


This weeks' one on one workout brought a new twist on an old favorite a new exercise.  We started out with a warm up on the 360.  What's great about Efficient Exercise is that you are never going to do the same workout twice.  


Thursday, November 21, 2013

Stuffed Grape Leaves ("Dolmas") from Well Fed 2

I've seen a few different recipes for paleo dolmas floating around and in cookbooks, but I've never had the courage to try any of them.  I knew when I saw Melissa Joulwan had included Stuffed Grape Leaves, a.k.a. Dolmas, in Well Fed 2 that it was time to face my dolma fears.  I was curious about this recipe both from a technique/difficulty aspect and a taste aspect.  Due to a tragic mistake on my part, I ended up making this recipe two times and learned some lessons that I can now share with you if you are new to dolma making.  

I gathered my ingredients and got to work.  

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Efficient Exercise: Week 22

 One on One Workout:  You can do more.  


After a week off from the gym, I felt like a bum heading in for my one on one workout.  I was so glad when Matthew suggested that he workout with me.  I needed all the motivation I could get.  

We started with what Matt calls an inverse ladder.  He explained we'd alternate between the banded chin up (regular chin up for him) and bench dips (regular dips for him).  I'd start with 10 chin ups and 1 bench dip.  The number of repetitions for the chin ups would go down to 1 and the bench dips up to 10. This got my blood pumping.  


Next up, the main event: the hip press.  

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Garlic Topped Flank Steak Roulade from Make Ahead Paleo

If you've been around my blog for a while, you'll know how I like recipes that involve a roulade.  I was about to type meat roll, but that just sounds wrong, and well, I guess I've typed it anyway.  While looking through Tammy Credicott's Make Ahead Paleo for a final recipe to try out before doing my summary book review post, I could not pass up her Garlic Topped Flank Steak Roulade.  

I was excited to see how long this recipe would take to prepare as it looked like it could potentially be a new weeknight dinner for me.  I define a weeknight dinner as one that takes around an hour or less to prepare and cook (emphasis on the less).  This recipe comes from her Make & Freeze chapter of the book.  She suggests you can prepare the roulade, freeze it, and defrost and cook whenever you're ready.  I won't be freezing it this time. 

I read all of the text on the page of the recipe and gathered my ingredients.  It was a cold morning before work when I made this so I turned my oven on to pre-heat as soon as I got started preparing the dish.  

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Efficient Exercise: Week 21

One on One Workout:  Dead lift serious.  How much do you want it?


The day before this workout, I published my week 18 post - a trying week.  It's funny how doing the blog can help me refocus.  This week's workout was on Wednesday instead of my usual Tuesday and my work week had already done a number on me mentally.   When I got to the gym and changed into my workout clothes and found a huge stain on my shirt, I figured things couldn't get much worse.  It's a good thing no one cares what you're wearing at Efficient Exercise



I knew I needed to focus on the workout and tell myself I could do it.  I had to apply the lessons I've learned over the past few weeks.  Some familiar faces from the Saturday workout were finishing up a workout before my session.  As they were leaving they told me that they hoped that Matthew wasn't going to do to me what he'd done to them.  Matthew's eyes lit up as he told me he had something special for me.  

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Taj Mahal Chicken from Well Fed 2

I was so excited to have received a copy of Melissa Joulwan's Well Fed 2!  It really is a beautiful cookbook, but will the recipe's turn out as well as the pretty pictures promise?  I figured the Taj Mahal Chicken was a great recipe to start my exploration of this cookbook.

This recipe has a few things that I typically exclude from recipes, but as the recipe is Whole30 approved, I decided to live a little and allow myself some applesauce and raisins.  In fact, only two recipes in the book aren't Whole30 approved.  This is my kind of cookbook.  

I've actually made this recipe twice now.  The first, I made for a friend and the second time, just for me. I gathered my ingredients, and got to work.  

Imagine chicken thighs in this picture.

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Efficient Exercise: Week 20

One on One Workout:  There is no try. 


After a quick warm up of arm circles on the 360, Matthew took me over to a 15 pound barbell and had me do 10 push pulls for additional warm up.  He added some weight and explained that he wanted me to do 21 push pulls with that bar and then 21 kettlebell swings with the 45 pound kettlebell.  He said that getting to 21 push pulls would take a while.  I got started and stayed focused on getting through 21 as fast as I could.  It got hard toward the end but I kept pushing.  I took a second and picked up the kettlebell  and did 21 swings.


Friday, November 1, 2013

Coffee Cup Eggs from Make Ahead Paleo

While looking through Make Ahead Paleo for recipes I wanted to try, my mind was blown by this recipe.  Have you ever been running late in the morning (or anytime of the day really), have nothing ready to grab and eat but still want a quality filling paleo meal?  Three words:  Coffee Cup Eggs.

This recipe is in the "Room Service" section of the book.  She suggests this for when you're in a hotel room that has a microwave and refrigerator.  Genius!

It's simple and I'm sure that if I did an internet search, I might find other versions of this but I had never thought of this on my own, so thank you Tammy!  

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Efficient Exercise: Week 19

One on One Recap:


One area that I know I need to work on is my lower body/leg strength.  After years of codling my body due to a hip issue, I'm not as strong as I should/could be and my balance isn't great.  

Matthew is working hard to remedy this.  My one on one workout was a leg day this week.  

There were four exercises in this workout. I was so tired at the end of the workout, I had a hard time remembering the order or how we went back and forth between them, but I think you'll get the point if I just list them.  The first exercise was the hip press.


Thursday, October 24, 2013

Sweet 'n' Smoky Deviled Eggs from Make Ahead Paleo

Smoked paprika is one of my favorite spices.  When I saw Tammy Credicott's recipe for Sweet 'n' Smoky Deviled Eggs in her new cookbook, Make Ahead Paleo, I had to give these a try.  They are in the "On the Go" chapter of the book.  The picture of these eggs in the book looks so pretty.  Spoilers, but I learned something about this cookbook by making this recipe that might be helpful to everyone. 

I boiled the eggs the day before I assembled the recipe using my electric egg cooker.  It's quick, easy, and always gives me perfect boiled eggs.   I had an ice bath ready for them when they were done.  

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Efficient Exercise: Week 18

One on One:  Where's your head?  

Over the past few weeks, my fat loss has stalled.  Matthew and I have talked about my doing some low load cardio to help get me out of this plateau.  It's an odd place to be as I know I'm getting stronger.  I can feel the change in my body and how I hold myself, but no real outward vanity change is happening (my clothes aren't getting looser).  His preference would be that I go on a walk.  It sounds easy, but I'm not a walker and it doesn't really fit with my schedule as I wont go walking by myself in the dark. 



I have a spin bike at home, so he suggested spin, but keep my heart rate in the 110 range.  He said I could do it 3-4 times a week for about 40 minutes.  The morning of this workout, I did this for 20 minutes and my rear end could not take it anymore.  I've not given up yet, but I can say the monotony, even with a television to watch, will  not make it more likely that I won't do this with regularity.  I can do a DVD workout on the bike just fine but it will take my heart rate higher than Matthew wants.  

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Sausage Stuffed Portobellos from Make Ahead Paleo

After having an excellent experience with Tammy Credicott's Hunter's Chicken from Make Ahead Paleo, I couldn't wait to try out another recipe from the book.   Her Portobello Stuffed Mushrooms from the Make & Freeze chapter looked great in the book, but would they taste great in my kitchen?  Let's see!

I gathered my ingredients.  The recipe calls for Worcestershire Sauce.  I used my easy substitute of equal measures of coconut aminos and fish sauce.  The recipe also gives you the option of using all Italian sausage or half sausage half ground beef.  I with with the half and half option.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Efficient Exercise Week 17

Just when I think I'm doing good, Matthew shakes things up.

One on One Workout Recap: How coachable are you?


Matthew wrote out the workout on the board and we got right to work with the blast strap knee tuck.  

Friday, October 11, 2013

Paleo Lunches & Breakfasts on the Go by Diana Rodgers & Giveaway!

I was so excited to receive a review copy of Diana Rodgers' new book, Paleo Lunches & Breakfasts on the Go.  After spending some time going through this beautiful book, I picked out some recipes to put it to the Paleo Review test.

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Efficient Exercise Week 16: Battle Stations!

One on One:  Truth in Exercise


This weeks' one on one workout  at Efficient Exercise started with some body weight exercises.  20 walking lunges and then 50 squats.  I was really proud of myself for making it through 50 squats  in a row.  The music helped.  Matthew knows how to get me going - he put the Muse channel on the internet radio.  The first song that played was Cave.  It has a good driving beat to it. 

The first mini circuit had two exercises, the ARx Leg Press and a new exercise for me, the Tru-Squat machine.  For the ARx Leg Press, Matthew had me do 3 continuous reps without rest between.  This warms your legs up pretty quickly.  In a group workout a few weeks ago, Matthew included an exercise called a tru squat where you'd hold a weight plate with your legs anchored/counter balanced by a device.  The Tru-Squat machine gives you the same moment but the machine holds your back straight and forces you directly down.  No leaning forward.  

I had watched Matthew try this machine out a few days before as it was new to him.  He loaded it up with weight and made it look super simple.  While the movement may be simple, this is not easy.  This exercise would be my "tru" challenge for the day.  

The Tru-Squat machine.

Monday, October 7, 2013

Lamb Tzatziki Gyros from Paleo Lunches & Breakfasts on the Go

I love gyros, but I've rarely found gluten free ones in restaurants.  When I saw that Diana Rodgers had a gyro recipe in her new book Paleo Lunches & Breakfasts on the Go, I knew I had to try them out.  

Again, here you're getting two recipes reviews for one:  the gyros and the tzatziki sauce.  

There are two phases of preparation for this recipe.  The night before I wanted to eat the gyros, I started by making the lamb loaf and paleo mayonnaise for the Tzatziki sauce.  

Friday, October 4, 2013

White Chicken Chili from Make Ahead Paleo

The minute I saw the recipe for White Chicken Chilli from Tammy Credicott's Make Ahead Paleo, I knew I had to try it.  A kicked up chicken soup with homemade broth prepared in a slow cooker: could this recipe sound any better?  

One morning I gathered the ingredients before work, and started loading the slow cooker.  


I put my homemade chicken broth in the microwave to defrost, put a saute pan on the stovetop to heat with some coconut oil, and chopped up the onion and jalapeƱo.  When the pan was hot, I added the chopped vegetables and minced the garlic directly into the pan.  

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Efficient Exercise: Week 15

I returned form the Save Your Bacon weekend a little body and mind tired, but ready to get back in the gym.  Matthew was doing a workout when I got there.  I love watching the trainers train.  It give you and idea of the focus and intensity you need to put into these exercises.  When our appointed workout time arrived, he pulled out a marker and writes what we were going to do up on the board. 

One on One Recap:  "After 6, it's easy."



For those who doing read "Efficient Exercise" short hand, it was a ladder workout doing 10 reps down to 1 of three exercises:  the hip press, X-Ccentric Pulldown, and the bench press.  He said we were doing this for time, so no dilly dallying.  

Monday, September 30, 2013

A Paleo Adventure Part II: Save Your Bacon Weekend-Baconpalooza & P3 Presentation

After an awesome day at the farm, the next event was Baconpalooza.  How awesome is that name?   What is Baconpalooza exactly?  Eight teams of skilled paleo chefs were tasked with presenting appetizers featuring bacon for judging.  Each team partnered with a local farm to provide the bacon for their dish.  If this sounds like heaven to you, I can say it was pretty close.  There were also four kombucha brewers there for tasting and judging.  The event was held across the street from the Stonewall Jackson Hotel in Staunton Virginia, on a grassy hill.  

 

Friday, September 27, 2013

Chicken Avocado Bacon Salad from Paleo Lunches and Breakfasts on the Go

After a light and refreshing Spicy Salmon & Cucumber "Noodle" Salad, I went to the other end of the salad spectrum with this Chicken Avocado Bacon Salad from Diana Rodgers' Paleo Lunches and Breakfasts on the Go.  

This salad is really a 3 for 1 recipe review as the salad recipe requires you to make her mayonnaise, ranch dressing  recipes as well.  


My first step was to turn the oven on to pre-heat to 350 degrees to cook some chicken for the salad.  I used some boneless chicken thighs sprinkled with Penzey's Sunny Paris seasoning.  I think she intends you to be able to use any roast chicken you have handy, but I didn't have any handy.  I covered a baking pan with foil to minimize mess.  When the oven was ready, I put the chicken in and set a timer for 30 minutes.   

Next, I heated a saute pan and added the bacon to fry.  

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Paleo Movement: Efficient Exercise Week 14

One on One Workout Limits?


If I thought last week was hard, this workout equalled it.

The first mini-circuit was innocent enough.  We started on the 360 and moved on to the X-Ccentric Bench Press.  I think I did 4 reps.  The first time through we focused on the negative and the second the positive. 


Monday, September 23, 2013

A Paleo Adventure Part I: Save Your Bacon Weekend

I love to enter contests.  Recently, Paleo Comfort Foods had a contest that had several prizes, the grand prize being two premium tickets to the Save Your Bacon Weekend in Staunton, Virginia by the Farm to Consumer Legal Defense Fund.  I entered the contest because I think one of the prizes was a bunch of cookbooks.  You know how I love cookbooks.  One morning in mid-August, I had just sat down at my desk at work and there was an email from Julie Mayfield- I'd won the tickets.  My co-worker and often food taster friend, Martha, had just left my office and she heard me squeal.  After a little PTO juggling, I was on my way!

I flew into Staunton the Friday before the event.  I cannot say how nice it was to step off that plane into 70 degree weather.  This is the prettiest little airport I've ever been to.  Its nestled in a bunch of farm land.   

Friday, September 20, 2013

Spicy Salmon and Cucumber "Noodle" Salad from Diana Rodgers

I got home late from work and errands one evening and decided that it was a good time to try this dish from Diana Rodgers' new book, Paleo Lunches and Breakfasts on the Go.  Yes, the book says lunches and breakfasts, but I really don't categorize my food by meal anymore.  I will say that when I started eating a paleo template, my biggest problem was breakfast.  If you're just starting out and breakfast perplexes you, perhaps this is the book for you.  Any recipe is fair game for any meal for me.  

When reading the instructions, the name of the recipe says salmon, the description of the recipe talks about salmon, but the ingredient list and recipe instructions talk about tuna.  I emailed Diana and she said it was a typo and that it should be salmon.   I think she was embarrassed, but typos happen to everyone and I'm quite sure my blog is rife with them.  If I treated this blog like a work document, I'd probably have a mental breakdown.  Back to the kitchen! 

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Paleo Movement: Efficient Exercise Week 13

A few weeks ago, Matthew warned he'd be notching up the volume/intensity, and this week he followed through on his promise.



One on One Recap: Arms? 


Monday, September 16, 2013

Slow Cooker Hunter's Chicken from Make Ahead Paleo

It was an exciting day at my house when I opened my mailbox and found this a copy of Tammy Credicott's new book Make-Ahead Paleo: Healthy Gluten-, Grain- & Dairy-Free Recipes Ready When & Where You Are.  At first glance, this is a beautiful cookbook.  It's organized into six sections:  Make & Freeze, Low & Slow, On the Go, Room Service, Travel Treats and Week in a Day. If you've read my blog for a while, you know I'm not one to be fully won over by pretty pictures, so I'll be putting this book to the Paleo Review test cooking recipes from five out of the six sections.  

I am a huge fan of using the slow cooker and her Slow Cooker Hunter's Chicken seemed like a great place to start exploring this cookbook.  I gathered my ingredients and got ready to load my slow cooker.  

Imagine 2 cups of chicken broth and some white wine in this picture.

Friday, September 13, 2013

Ginger and Spice Breakfast Sausage from Paleo Lunches and Breakfasts to Go

Shortly after ending my AIP experiment, I was very lucky to receive a copy of Diana Rodgers' new book, Paleo Lunches and Breakfasts to Go: The Solution to Gluten Free  Eating All Day Long with Delicious, Easy and Portable Primal Meals.  Over the next few weeks, I'll be blogging a few recipes from this beautiful new cookbook.  I meet Diana this past weekend at the Farm to Consumer Legal Defense Fund Save Your Bacon event in Staunton, Virginia.  Simply put, she is a paleo powerhouse. In addition to running a farm, she has a Paleo/Primal Nutrition Practice and is now a cookbook author. That makes me tired just typing it.  

What better way to start cooking from a breakfast and lunch cookbook than to start with some breakfast sausage.  One of my weekend rituals is to go to a local diner and have the breakfast platter that includes breakfast sausage that they mix in house.  Could Diana's recipe give me a reason to stay home?  

I gathered my ingredients.  I made a half batch of the recipe this time around.  

 

Don't forget the ginger!

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Paleo Movement: Efficient Exercise Week 12

I'd never gotten the impression that Matthew was going easy on me in any regard until this week.

One on One Recap: J-Reps Part 2- AKA NOODLE LEGS


This workout started like many with some kettlebell swings.  After I was warmed up, Matthew had me do some dead-lifts with the trap bar.  The weight totaled 85 pounds.  He had me do 3 sets of 3.  From there we went to the Russian leg curls.  This is where a little muscle tightness in my low back made itself known to me.  


From there, Matthew had me do some 360 combined with planking.  I was enjoying myself.  And then the workout began.

Monday, September 9, 2013

The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook by Mickey Trescott

As you've seen, over the past few weeks while I was following an autoimmune paleo protocol (AIP) to see if it will help with my Grover's disease (an update will be coming soon), I've cooked through some recipes in Mickey Trescott's Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook.  She graciously gave me a review copy.  She's a brave lady as giving me a review copy doesn't always lead to a rave review.

The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook Cover


If you've been looking for paleo recipe resources, there are hundreds of e-books out there and I know I've downloaded and purchased some pretty disappointing ones.  It's not hard to become skeptical about spending money on them.  I know I sure have.


Friday, September 6, 2013

Stir Fried Pork with Cabbage Noodles from Meatified

After having a great experience with Meatified's Grain Free CousCous Salad with Baby Kale, I was excited to see this AIP compliant Stir Fried Pork with Cabbage Noodles.  Could this be a new weeknight dinner?  

I gathered my ingredients.  


Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Paleo Movement: Efficient Exercise Week 11

One on One Workout: Training Swimmingly

After a warm up of 2- 30 second rounds of 35 pound kettlebell swings, we moved on to something fun, a jumping pull up ladder.  


I'm familiar with ladders in my swim workouts where either you swim increasing distances by an increment or number of reps of a set distance and then back down again.  

Monday, September 2, 2013

Curried Cauliflower from The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook

I'm always looking for quick and tasty side dishes.  While going through Mickey Trescott's Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook, I came across her Curried Cauliflower recipe and knew I had to try it.  I thought it would be the perfect complement to her Coconut Amino Marinated Salmon I was making for last minute dinner company.

I gathered my ingredients.

Friday, August 30, 2013

Coconut Amino Marinated Salmon from the Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook

While shopping this past week, I came across some wild caught Sockeye Salmon on special at $9.99/pound.  I remembered that The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook had a few salmon recipes.  I decided to give Mickey's Coconut Amino Marinated Salmon a try as it had ingredients that I usually have in my pantry. It's always nice when I don't have to make trips to the grocery store to prepare a recipe.  


Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Paleo Movement: Efficient Exercise Week 10

When I came into the gym for my one on one workout this week, the new Project Transformation Class was finishing up their workout with Matthew.  It was exciting to see the energy of the new group experiencing the ARx and the 360 for the first time.  I could see how much Matthew enjoys teaching.  

Matthew had some new and challenging body weight exercises to teach me this week.


Monday, August 26, 2013

Paleo Mom Lemon Dill Poached Salmon

Poaching fish has always been a cooking method that has intrigued me but at the same time seemed scary.  While looking for autoimmune paleo recipes, I came across The Paleo Mom's Lemon Dill Poached Salmon.  After having great success with her Pad Thai, I decided it was time to tackle poaching.  

I gathered my ingredients.  This recipe appealed to me as it required minimal preparation and it only used one pot.  


Friday, August 23, 2013

Slow Cooker Italian Pork Roast from The Clothes Make the Girl

It's hotter than heck here in Austin, Texas and I'm not liking the idea of turning the oven on at all. I had a pork roast to cook and decided that my slow cooker was the way to go.  After a little searching, I settled on this Slow Cooker Italian Pork Roast from Melissa Joulwan's The Clothes Make the Girl.  I don't know about you but I am super excited about Well Fed 2!  

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Paleo Movement: Efficient Exercise Week 9

By this time, I had found out that despite my doctor’s complete freak out, I was not in fact dying. There is a minor issue, that I can’t say isn’t a little worrisome, but not the worst case scenario that I had been distracting me from my workouts, and well, most everything. I was ready to HIIRT!

One on One Recap:


This one on one workout was a quick and dirty straightforward workout.  We were done before I knew it.  There weren’t any exercises that were new to me.  

We started with a mini circuit of kettlebell swings, ARx Leg Press, and the ab roller.  I went through those exercises two times.  


One of my favorites.

Monday, August 19, 2013

Sage-Braised Chicken Legs from The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook

I'm always on the look out for dishes that I think could be a weeknight dinner.  What's a weeknight dinner for me?  One that doesn't keep me in the kitchen for longer than an hour and has minimal clean up.  While looking through Mickey Trescott's Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook, her Sage-Braised Chicken Legs looked like a contender for weeknight dinner status.   

I gathered my ingredients and preheated my oven.  

Friday, August 16, 2013

Chicken Meatloaf Muffins from Mammoth Kitchen

Before getting a copy of Mickey Trescott's Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook, I did what I typically do and looked for recipes on the internet that looked appealing to me but were within the parameters of my current Autoimmune Protocol N=1 experiment.    I came across this recipe for Chicken Meatloaf Muffins from Mammoth Kitchen.  They appealed to me because the recipe calls for grinding your own chicken.

It looks like the Mammoth Kitchen site is down as of the morning that I'm posting this.  If its changed URLs I couldn't find an alternate.  Regardless, the recipe was out there, I cooked it, and here it is.  

I gathered my ingredients.  Because I'm making this AIP, I omitted the eggs which the recipe encourages.